





PROCLAMATION





WHEREAS, Miller Grove Volunteer Fire Department was founded in 1976; and

WHEREAS, Miller Grove Independent School District Ag Instructor/Fire Chief Ernie Weaver along with his Ag students and members of the community operating by citizens band radios, would respond to all calls for assistance; and

WHEREAS, The first known apparatus with the department was a chassis cab truck with 250 gallon tank purchased by the Hopkins County Commissioners Court with Octave Woods serving as commissioner; and

WHEREAS, Chief Ernie Weaver attended a CPR course as required to qualify as a recipient of the truck for the Miller Grove Volunteer Fire Department; and

WHEREAS, Miller Grove Fire Department housed the one-ton chassis cab at the Ag shop of the Miller Grove ISD resulting in lowering insurance rate for the school district; and

WHEREAS, The department has since moved from the school to its own facility, a fire station with living quarters and a full kitchen; and

WHEREAS, In 2018, the department dropped its ISO rating from 9 to 6 to create an insurance cost reduction for residences within 5 miles of the station; and

WHEREAS, At present, the Miller Grove Volunteer Fire Department has thirteen members supporting five fire apparatuses – Chief Justin Block, Captain/Treasurer Ray Sparks, Training Coordinator Doug Lewis, Assistant Treasurer Bob Flecker, Head of Maintenance Spencer Wicks, Secretary Dianne Wicks in addition to Firefighters Wade Honicutt, Trey Lester, Steven Mayfield, Jimeray Hoffman, Bryan Thorton, Jay Hoffman and Kyla Block as JR Cadet; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Hopkins County Commissioners Court urges all citizens to applaud the outstanding efforts of the Miller Grove Volunteer Fire Department, to recognize the dedication in their perseverance to provide protection for each citizen and their property and, offer heartfelt appreciation for the servanthood of each one.

APPROVED AND ADOPTED by the Hopkins County Commissioners Court at the regularly scheduled meeting on the 11th day of November, 2019.

Robert Newsom, Hopkins County Judge

Mickey Barker, Commissioner, Pct. 1

Wade Bartley, Commissioner, Pct. 3

Greg Anglin, Commissioner, Pct. 2

Soe Price, Commissioner, Pct. 4

Andy Endsley, Hopkins County Fire Chief